The section addresses Registries issues that arise through membership concerns, especially indexing and computerization, as well as maintenance and access to the public records to insure availability. The group published the fourth edition of the REBA Guide to the Massachusetts Registries of Deeds. The Committee meets often with representatives from the Secretary of State's Office and the Massachusetts Association of Registers of Deeds and Assistant Registers of Deeds. They also keep abreast of developing registry matters, like electronic recordings (E-sign).

The Registries Section's purpose is to work with the registers and staff of the 21 registries of deeds throughout the Commonwealth and offer them our feedback and support in providing accurate, accessible and reliable real estate records to attorneys, title examiners and the general public. The group seeks to master with the peculiarities and nuances of the different registries as well as attend meetings offering the opportunity to build relationships with the various registers.

When an issue arises that requires the attention of the REBA membership, whether immediate or as a matter that requires deliberation, the section makes every effort to address the issue. Leaders of the section attend the meetings of the Registry of Deeds Technology Advisory Committee and provide insight, on behalf of REBA, to the Secretary of the Commonwealth.

The section has also expanded its concerns to the registries of probate due to the essential role of probate records in title examinations and has sought to work with the court system and the probate registers to make their records promptly accessible, especially when stored offsite. The section’s co-chairs make a special effort to insure that its membership is geographically diverse, with an attempt to represent every registry district; it often conduct meetings by conference call.

Officers

Co-Chair
Douglas J. Brunner Esq.
Law Offices of Douglas J. Brunner
1350 Main Street, Suite 216
Springfield, MA 01103
(413) 781-1202
(413) 734-2925
djb@titlebound.com
Staff
Nicole Cohen
The Real Estate Bar Association
295 Devonshire Street, Floor 6
Boston, MA 02110
(781) 820-6990
(617) 854-7570
cohen@reba.net
Co-Chair
Neil D. Golden Esq.
Gilmartin Magence LLP - Boston Office
376 Boylston Street, Sixth Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 375-9000
(617) 375-5700
ngolden@gmlawllp.com

Members

Ruth Ellen Anklin
57 Hillcrest Street
Waltham, MA 02451
(617) 894-6902
ranklin1977@gmail.com
Mark E. Barnett Esq.
National Lumber Company
71 Maple Street
Post Office Box 32
Mansfield, MA 02048
(508) 339-8020
(508) 339-4518
owholmesjr@aol.com
Robert T. Bevans Esq.
Topkins & Bevans - Waltham Office
255 Bear Hill Road, Third Floor
Waltham, MA 02451
(781) 890-6230
(781) 466-6982
rbevans@topbev.com
Joseph A. Coluntino Jr., Esq.
Butters Brazilian LLP
699 Boylston Street, 12th Floor
Boston, MA 02116
(617) 367-2600
joecoluntino@gmail.com
Elizabeth K. Cotter Esq.
Cape Cod Title & Escrow - Barnstable
Post Office Box 1262
Barnstable, MA 02630
(508) 744-7539
(508) 744-7219
liz@capecodtitleandescrow.com
Barbara A. Emerson Esq.
Law Office of Timothy J. van der Veen, P.C.
1020 Plain Street, Suite 390
Marshfield, MA 02050
(617) 750-7648
(617) 243-7304
BarbaraAEmerson@aol.com
Wendy Meri Fiscus Esq.
Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP - Boston Office
Seaport West
155 Seaport Boulevard
Boston, MA 02210
(617) 439-2000
(617) 310-9309
wfiscus@nutter.com
Richard M. Golder Esq.
Marsh, Moriarty Ontell & Golder, P.C.
18 Tremont Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 742-1822
(617) 720-2565
rgolder@mmoglaw.com
Felicity Hardee Esq.
Felicity Hardee Law Practice
Post Office Box 15531
Springfield, MA 01115
(413) 301-7338
(413) 785-5060
felicity@fhardee.com
Vienna S. Kim
Nixon Peabody LLP - Boston Office
100 Summer Street
Boston, MA 02110
(617) 345-6060
(617) 574-1100
vkim@nixonpeabody.com
Michael Eric Malamut Esq.
New England Legal Foundation
150 Lincoln Street
Boston, MA 02111
(617) 695-3660
(617) 695-3656
michaelmalamut@nelfonline.org
Constantine T. Mariolis Esq.
Gelinas & Ward, LLP
106 Merriam Avenue
Leominster, MA 01453
(978) 537-2200
(978) 345-9488
cmariolis@gelinasandward.com
Constantine T. Mariolis Esq.
Gelinas & Ward, LLP
106 Merriam Avenue
Leominster, MA 01453
(978) 537-2200
(978) 345-9488
cmariolis@gelinasandward.com
Michael F. McDonagh Esq.
Massachusetts Association of Realtors
333 Wyman Street, Suite 300
Waltham, MA 02451
(781) 839-5520
(781) 839-5570
mike@marealtor.com
Ann E. Meilus Esq.
Landry & Meilus, LLP
21 Summer Street
Post Office Box 910
Barre, MA 01005
(978) 355-2289
(978) 355-6448
ann@gmail.com
Robert J. Moriarty Jr., Esq.
Marsh, Moriarty Ontell & Golder, P.C.
18 Tremont Street, Suite 900
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 778-5100
(617) 720-2565
rmoriarty@mmoglaw.com
Peter M. Nicholson Esq.
Prescott, Bullard & McLeod
558 Pleasant Street, Fourth Floor
New Bedford, MA 02740
508-999-1351
508-999-9433
PNICHOLSON@PRESCOTT-BULLARD.COM
Register Mary Olberding
Hampshire District Registry of Deeds
33 King Street
Northampton, MA 01060
(413) 584-3637
(413) 584-4136
Mary.Olberding@sec.state.ma.us
Brian Pacheco Esq.
Pacheco Law Offices
161 Wilbur Avenue, Suite 206
Somerset, MA 02725
(508) 402-7090
(508) 402-7093
brian@pachecolawoffices.com
Edward A. Rainen Esq.
Rainen Law Office, P.C.
231 Sutton Street, Unit 2E
North Andover, MA 01845
(978) 975-4144
(978) 975-4149
erainen@rainenlaw.com
Christopher T. Salter Esq.
Christopher Salter Attorney at Law
Six North Road, Unit One
Chelmsford, MA 01824
(978) 467-1450
(978) 482-0433
csalter@trlgroup.com
Marc Springer Esq.
Four Bradford Terrace
Brookline, MA 02446
(617) 642-7666
mspringer68@gmail.com